More hats for the homeless

Since December, I started giving my hats to an association directly. I’ve also decided to be a mit more vocal about it, and people have been kind enough to join me.

You might have read about my homeless hat story somewhere. Due to personal reasons, I had to ask for my story to be erased from the hosting website.

But long story short, there’s a massive refugee crisis in Europe right now. And it’s freezing cold. So on top of an increasing amount of homeless people, we also have refugees who are scared and lost and, let’s tell the truth, not decently treated. Right now I’m helping two families from Sudan who don’t speak a word of French.

So, because I’m a rebel and it’s illegal to help them, I knit more and more hats. Just casted on the 10th hat today since december 1st. Because people are so cool, they help and send me leftover yarn. My faith in humanity is restored thanks to knitters, crocheters, crafters.

So if you want to help, you can join our Ravelry Group here.

If you want to start helping in your own hometown, please do. I know you might think it’s just a drop in the ocean. But believe me, giving someone a home-made item means a lot. And you’ll be surprised how many people are willing to help you. Sometimes it just takes some communication skills and a bit of yarn really.

2 thoughts on “More hats for the homeless

  1. It is a wonderful thing for you to knit hats for people. I m sure they appreciate it very much. I knit hats for kids who need them :)

Anything to say ? Comment here !

