Spinning hand-dyied wool first experience

So a friend showed me how to dye wool with food dye, and it was messy and pretty and fun and I managed to get this beautiful gradient. It does leak color a bit, but I hope I’ll get better at it with time.

I used 45g of white Cheviot, and spun it with my basic spindle in a few days and got about 170m of yarn (roughly 185 yards).

Because it’s not much, and I didn’t want to loose the gradient, I kept it as a single. But now I don’t really know what to knit with it. Any thoughts ?

Have you ever tried dying wool ? Do you prefer dying fibers then spinning it, or dying skeins of yarn ?

3 thoughts on “Spinning hand-dyied wool first experience

  1. Pingback: Meditations on dyeing entangled yarn. | Geekette Palette

Anything to say ? Comment here !

