A Hitchhiker shawlette

Today I feel like a real knitter. And a real blogger.

I feel like a real knitter because I’ve just finished knitting a pattern from a designer. I feel like I belong to some posh knitting club now. It reminds me of some knitting clubs I attended back in the days, where knitters looked down on me for knitting improvised shawls and using acryl. Not that I care about what people say, I’m going to knit anyway.

This time, I paid for a designer’s pattern and used expensive yarn. Just because I fancied making something nice for myself for once. I must say the result is gorgeous !

Ho, and I feel like a real blogger because I borrowed a camera and went to the park and tried to take pics of the shawlette. I’m a lousy photographer, and self-stripping yarn makes it pretty impossible to have a decent image, but I tried !

Pattern is Hitchhiker available here. Pretty easy, quick and fun, I finished it in 10 days, knitting mainly in public transportation. I wasn’t able to learn the pattern by heart so I wrote it down on a piece of paper that I kept with me. Garter stitch feels so soft and the shape works well around my neck. I did 36 dents (Dear, dear Arthur…) and used the not-so-pointy ending.

Yarn is Cascade Yarn Heritage Paint in Seattle Blue. The self-stripping does all the fun, I’m not sure the pattern would be so entertaining with a solid color.

Have you tried this pattern ? How did you feel when you made your first posh project ?

 

2 thoughts on “A Hitchhiker shawlette

  1. Welcome to the “posh knitting club”! :)

    I keep looking at Hitchhiker, but I have several similar garter stitch shawl patterns sprinkled throughout already-owned magazines and pattern books; I’ll probably make one of them instead. Yours is lovely!

    • Thanks!
      Yes, you will probably get something similar, it’s pretty easy. I keep wearing it, it’s so soft and squeeeeeshy! I love that it was done in 10 days, while I remember attempting garter stitch scarf that would take ages when I started knitting, with a boring rectangular shape and acryl yarn…

Anything to say ? Comment here !

