My gifts hats for those in need

When I knit for people who live in the streets, I try to go for quick, strechy and easy patterns. I want to be able to knit as many as possible, and knit something warm. No cobweb lace here.

For yarn, I try to avoid yarn that could itch or felt. Some yarns offer a good blend of acrylic and wool. Sometime all I have is soft acrylic. I’m still looking for the perfect mix.

So far, my favorite pattern is Jacques Cousteau Hat. It’s a ribbed hat, knit in the round, strechy enough, quick enough, but not too plain. It works well with numerous different yarns. I think I have done it 4 times already.

What yarn do you use ? What’s your favorite pattern ?

IMG_5174.JPG

2 thoughts on “My gifts hats for those in need

  1. I have a how-to book from the 60s or 70s that has basic directions for several needlearts that I have kept for reference (took me a long time to memorize how to cast on) that includes my favorite hat pattern. It’s like yours: a simple ribbed cap. The pattern was originally for knitting it flat, but I’ve adapted it for knitting in the round. Although I have made one, I don’t entirely get the lacy hat thing. I put on a hat to be warm, and lace doesn’t cut it.

    • I think simple hats are a good options, they are warm and you can make a lot of those. I’ve made a lace hat for myself one, it’s pretty but not efficient at all during winter. I’m so happy to be able to knit in the round, it’s faster and it avoids having to sew the edges, which means it’s also less fragile.

Anything to say ? Comment here !

