Learning to spin

IMG_5215.JPGSo, last year I met the lovely blogger from All she wants to do is knit and she kindly showed me how to spin. I didn’t succeed, but I loved it and decided to learn how to do it properly, one day.

In december, I took a spinning lesson. Loved it. But I wasn’t too sure about starting yet another hobby. So I put it aside, but it kept creeping back. Into my dreams, during dinner, at the grocery shop, I found myself thinking “could I spin that ?”.

So last saturday I bought a spindle in a lovely yarn shop in Paris.

IMG_5192-0.JPG

 My very first homespun yarn rom spinning class and my brand new spindle !

And I started spinning.

IMG_5193.JPG

Fibers ! The white one adds texture, the grey one is so soft !

At first, it was really bad and I nearly gave up.

IMG_5194.JPG

Those moments it looks great on the spindle, but turns out lousy once you’re done.

I tried again, and it was a bit better but still disappointing.

And this morning, I decided I wouldn’t do anything (except breakfast, because I’m french and I worship food.) before managing to spin a half-decent yarn.

Yesterday’s yarn  was so loose, I spinned it again with a firmer twist. (Not very familiar with spinning vocabulary yet, you’ll have to help me out !)

IMG_5199.JPG

Spun it again and turned out better.

Then I spun another yarn with the rest of fibers, again it was to loose so I re-twisted it and the result was a bit better :

IMG_5201.JPG

Blurry picture of an uneven homespun yarn.

And then I spun those two yarn together with the andean method.

IMG_5208.JPG

Loved this !

Two hours later, here it is. My precious, lovely, yarn. I love the pearly aspect, the mix of white and grey. I know it’s far from perfect but that feeling you get when you finally reach your goal is priceless.

IMG_5211.JPG

Now, I’ve used up most of my fiber stash, so I need more fiber. Where do you buy your fibers ?

 

14 thoughts on “Learning to spin

  1. Spinning is something I’ve avoided because I’d probably obsess over it the way I’ve obsessed over knitting, and buy all kinds of fiber and spindles, and then a spinning wheel, and then my husband will divorce me. So. Yeah. Not going to learn to spin. I love seeing what other people make, though! And that pearly white and gray yarn is lovely.

    • I know! I resisted the urge but I finally gave in to temptation! Spent hours spinning, haven’t even thought about knitting today! And I bought fibers… The joy of being single!

  2. Way to go sticking with it! I’ve been spinning for a few years now (off and on) and still have plenty of uh-oh moments. My seriously experienced spinning friends say: Just spin it and knit with it and keep at it. So I am trying that.

    As for where I get my fiber: some yarn shops also carry fiber (be prepared to be seduced by gorgeously dyed stuff — yummy!). And I go to an annual sheep and fiber festival held in Estes Park, CO, where lots of vendors show up selling everything from fleece to finished yarn. A great place to find lots of different fiber sources, including rare sheep breeds.

    I’m also taking a Craftsy class on drafting. She’s very clear and precise and I’m practicing one technique at a time, trying to improve. I think practice (with the occasional insightful advice from someone who knows what they are doing) really helps.

    • I’ve spun yet another yarn meanwhile and yes, practice really helps ! I found fiber on the web, but can’t wait to hunt for local producers.
      I wouldn’t have managed it without a proper 3 hours class by an experienced spinner. Youtube isn’t enough sometimes.
      Now what scared me a little is that I haven’t thought about knitting at all, it feels like I completely lost my knitting addiction ! Hope it will pass because I have so much stuff to finish !

      • Classes have helped me, too, just to learn what to do and what not to do, but a bunch of it has been me practicing.
        I also alternate: I’m either spinning or knitting. I can’t seem to do both at the same time (i.e., both activities on the same day). The good news: Spin enough and you will have yarn you need to use up, and you will have to get out your knitting needles!

      • I’ve managed to take my needles again and finish my WIP. Now, my wrist is really sore so I decided to do nothing for a few days to see if the spinning/knitting is responsible for the pain. And now that I’ve decided not to knit, I want to knit ! I’m staring at my holst garn skeins and imagining lace shawls…

      • I try to spend as little time as possible on screens due to epilepsy (which is also why this blog hasn’t been kept up to date through the years !), so I don’t think it’s related. I’ve had issues with sore hands or elbows in the past because of intensive knitting so I know it’s better to take some time off. The pain is already better.

  3. That came out beautifully! It took me a long time to get the hang of spinning, but I kept at it because there are so many beautiful fibers out there. I personally like hand-dyed fibers, and get most of mine from Etsy. Also love Fondant Fibres.

  4. Hows your spinning going these days? I just stumbled across this post again. So happy I could get you going on spinning and that you’re enjoying it!

    • Hi ! I love it ! It’s so effective for nerves too. I still have the same beginners spindle and I will need help to choose a new one. I’m trying different wools and fibers, but haven’t knitted anything out of my handspun yarn. I did some dying, have to post about that ! Hope you are ok. and thanks again !

Anything to say ? Comment here !

