5KCBWDAY6 : On others, on myself, and globally, on knitting.

I admire so many knitters. Some in my family, some I met during knitting clubs, some I follow on Ravelry…

I love the fact that with the same basic tools, each of us can create a different item, with it’s own backstory and it’s own future.

Some knit to forget, some knit to meet new people. Some knit to create, others knit to bring comfort to others.

noro

It’s a bit similar to make-up. If you give the same products and brushes to 10 make-up artists, you’ll have 10 different uses.

I started knitting at about 7 yo, and everyone was always very kind to me regarding knitting.

Even when I would knit my mother some itchy and shapeless scarves, she would proudly wear them at work.

Whenever  I’m not super happy with the baby clothes I knit, I still receive adorable pictures of the garment worn. (For personal reasons I decided never to publish pictures of babies and children on my websites, so I try to photograph the layette before it’s packed and send. And sometimes I forget and can’t show off about it on the blog. That’s ok.)

goth baby knit black and white

Sometimes, knitting brings me funny adventures.

When knitting my goth baby cardigan in black and white stripes, the old man in front of me in the metro stared at me, mesmerized, his eyelids heavier and heavier and he fell soundly asleep.

Often, children point my project and ask what I’m doing, and then stare at the project growing and growing on my needles. Girls and boys alike.

I feel really lucky to have received that heritage and to be part of the renewal of knitting !

Anything to say ? Comment here !

